Fleeing the scene of a car accident is totally unacceptable and is against the law in Virginia (see Va. Code § 46.2-894). Emily takes this issue very seriously when she meets with a client who was seriously hurt by a hit-and-run driver.
The consequences of leaving the scene of a car wreck are quite serious. Take, for example, a heartbreaking incident that occurred in Amelia County, Virginia. A 70-year-old woman was walking her dog when she was apparently hit and killed by a driver. Unfortunately, the driver opted to flee the scene of the accident and the woman’s body was later found in a ditch.
Losing someone you love is a traumatic, gut-wrenching experience. But that pain is exacerbated when the loss is sudden and the culprit is unknown. The victim’s daughter went to the press and made a plea to the at-fault driver to turn themselves in.
“Whoever did this, please please turn yourself in,” the daughter said. “I can’t live looking at my neighbors wondering if they are the ones that did it; I just want justice for my mom.”
This is a prime example of the ramifications of a hit-and-run accident. If you leave the scene of the collision, you not only endanger the life of the victim, but your actions reverberate to the victim’s family and close friends. If the at-fault driver does not turn themselves in, the daughter of the victim could be left with the agony of the unknown and mystery surrounding her mother’s untimely death for the rest of her life.
Fleeing the Scene of an Accident is Callous and Inhuman
When a driver flees the scene, they are essentially saying to the victim, “I don’t care what happens to you. I want to avoid going to jail or facing a civil lawsuit.”
Unfortunately, many drivers decide to act callously by simply fleeing the scene of a collision. In far too many Virginia auto accidents, a hit-and-run driver who leaves the scene is never apprehended. In these unfortunate the situations, the burden falls entirely on the victim, or their loved ones, to pick up the pieces and pursue financial restitution for medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
What to Do If You or a Loved One are the Victim of a Hit-and-Run Accident
In Virginia, drivers can pursue financial restitution through the Uninsured Motorist (“UM”) coverage afforded in their auto insurance policy. UM coverage typically matches your liability coverage. So, for example, if you have $50,000 in liability coverage, you automatically have $50,000 in UM coverage. To successfully access this coverage, you should speak to an experienced Norfolk car accident lawyer right away. You will likely need the services of a personal injury attorney since many insurance companies fight UM insurance claims just as vigorously as third party liability claims. That is right – your own insurance company will fight and defend against your claim for UM coverage, even though you have paid premiums for that coverage.
Speak to an Experienced Norfolk Car Accident Lawyer Today
If you or a loved one is the victim of a hit-and-run accident in or around Norfolk, contact Emily today. She offers free, confidential consultations where all of your available legal options are explored.