lawyers · solo practice

The Genesis of My Own Firm

I am so excited to have my own firm.  After practicing in Hampton Roads, Virginia for nearly 8 years, working for other lawyers, I knew it was time to break free.  I learned a lot from my former partners and mentors.  I still have a lot to learn.  I do not, however, need to answer to another boss who holds me back from being the lawyer I want to be.  I only answer to myself and my clients.

I love helping people.  Since I was in grade school, I always wanted to help.  Help means easing someone else’s stress and worry.  I am really good at that.  When clients come to me with a problem, I crave the solution.  I want to fix it.  I want to make it right.  The truth is there is a lot wrong in this world and people are taken advantage of every day.  This fact is unlikely to change but I can do my part.  I can help those who are hurt.  I can stop the manipulating of my clients one case at a time.  This journey is one I was born to take.  If you are reading this blog, you might be a friend, colleague, client or just a visitor.  Thank you for taking the time to find out about me.

This blog will not only document my journey in starting my own law firm but it will also serve as an outlet for me to comment about and report what I encounter along the way.

Here’s to 2015, the year The Law Office of Emily Mapp Brannon was founded.

Leave a Reply

